Frenzy – Robert Liparulo

Frenzy Robert Liparulo
Frenzy by Robert Liparulo
Series: Dreamhouse Kings #6
Published by Thomas Nelson on November 29, 2010
Genres: Fiction, Christian, Thriller, Young Adult
Buy on Amazon

Their destiny is to fix history. Their dream is to get home.

When you live in a house that's really a gateway between past and present, you have to be ready for anything. It's a painful fact the Kings have faced since moving to Pinedale eight days ago.

Desperately trying to rescue their mother from an unknown time and place, brothers Xander and David have lunged headlong into the chaos of history's greatest--and most volatile--events. But their goal has continually escaped their grasp.

And worse: Finding Mom is only a small part of what they must do, thanks to the barbaric Taksidian. His ruthless quest to sieze their house and its power from them has put not only the family, but all of mankind, in grave danger.

Somehow, the key to it all hinges on Uncle Jesse's words to the boys: "Fixing time is what our family was made to do." But how can they fix a world that has been turned updisde down--much less ever find their way home?

At long last, the secrets of the house and the King family are revealed in the stunning conclusion to this epic series.

It’s only been a little more than a week since the Kings moved to the Victorian mansion known as the old Koenig place, but in that week they’ve lived several lifetimes – nearly literally. The adventure began in House of Dark Shadows when the Kings discovered that the house contained portals to other places throughout time. The Kings’ adventure unfolds throughout the following books in the series. They, along with the reader, learn more about this mysterious house and its connection to their family. Each book ratchets up the tension, accelerates the pace, and sends the Kings into more and more dangerous scenarios. By the time you reach Frenzy, things are about to snap.

But Frenzy is the end. Well it’s not the end of the Kings’ story, more like the conclusion to this series. Unlike each of its predecessors, Frenzy does not begin where the previous book leaves of. In fact, here Liparulo does some time jumping of his own and sets the prologue in the near future. The events of the future show the reader just what is at stake and handcuffs us to the book, making it impossible to put down.

The weary and beaten down Kings, with help from Keal, determine to once and for all take hold of their destiny by defeating Taksidian, finding Mom, and fixing the future. Spanning past and present, from Atlantis to the set of the movie Predator, the battle rages on. And just when all hope is lost and the future seems too big to change, too inevitable to delay, too frightening to face, the Kings find themselves thrown into a portal that changes everything and prepares them for the finish.

In this stunning conclusion to the epic series, Robert Liparulo has crafted a can’t-put-down experience that sucks the reader into the story. For five books, he’s put the Kings through the wringer but with this conclusion draws out the themes of redemption and salvation that make the Kings’ journey through the valley of the shadow of death worth it all. And in the end, well it’s not an end. It’s a beginning.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.